Acceptance of reality

I totally get what OP is saying, it can be tough and we are our own worst critics. I personally think I am a great song writer and can make great sounding catchy lead/harmonies that work well for the song. My vocalist tells me all the time that I am the only person he knows that can write good songs without it sounding like trash.
I'm trying not to sound conceited, but you either "have it or you don't", it is almost a nature vs nurture... hard to explain but I always just have these melodies pop into my head, like I have no absolute control over whenit comes, it is literally like I am merely a conduit and universe says "OH hey, we got some cool things to throw your way bro'"
You guys tell ME, take a few spins of my stuff, I know shameless plug but I am seriously offering up my stuff for those curious.

Nice job! There’s elements of Megadeth and Helloween. Very cool track!

well, to me (not an authority) your clip sounds legit ! but then again WTF do i know....

on a topic of divine intervention in composing...it deffinitely helps but so does work ie. intelligently 'applied repetition...and repetitive experimentation' ...

lets not discourage the ones that dont hear voices and melodies in their heads...

it aint 'rocket science'...

its mainly 3 chords and a catchy melody...4 little less often...

5 chords ??.... thats jazz !!!:giggle:

Tom Petty calls this “can’t afford the rest of it”.
HILARIOUS.
Meaning he can only do so much and the rest?
He can’t afford it.
-and he had plenty of moneys to buy it.

Sounds like you to be good and down in a hole.
If it gets bad enough, you’ll grab that acoustic
and squeeze out something

Just start with a melody. The rest will fall into place. Instrumental music is pretty easy to put together if you start with a melody.

It may not be great, but just keep at it. Its up to others to decide whether they want to listen to and or like it.