Which is the right attenuator

Jmack52

Hi all. Need some input on which attenuator to go with but I’m pretty new to that kind of gear. I want to be able to play my tube amps for silent practice so a headphone jack is a must. Also need to have an impedance selector. In a perfect world there would be an auxiliary input as well so I can practice/jam along to songs. From what I can figure out, the only attenuators that comes close to matching my requirements is the Universal Audio Ox Box except that it doesn’t have an aux in, although perhaps I can still play songs through headphones by using the computer interface.? I’ve looked at the Captor but from what I can tell they’re specific to a given impedance and I want to use it on different amps. Thanks in advance for your input!

The Suhr Reactive Load/IR is the closest to what you want. Has speaker sims preloaded. Has a line in and headphone out for song playback. Only down side is a fixed 8 ohm load. Another option is the Fryette power station or their load box.

Boss WAZA TAE . Built in FX as well.
I would actually agree with this however it’s a flawed unit and blows up certain amps on the market due to the reactive load section that allows you to choose your resonance and presence z input. This has led to impedance mismatches that the end user does in faith of the unit and doesn’t play well with some amps. Sounds great otherwise.

Fryette power load is the best attenuator out there in my experience. Smooth volume taper. No notched attenuation. Allows for you to add lows and highs that may be missing in aaggressive attenuation situations. Etc etc.

Ox box is great too but sucks ass for high gain. If you don’t play metal or use high gain for anything else, this box might just be your ticket.