16Ohm Captor X + Wizard 100W

• Thread starter Deleted member 16554
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 16554

Looking to bump my 100W Wizard up to 7 on master volume and 7-9 on Preamp volume…am I about to blow something up?

I got the master up to 5 on Friday and every time I started playing, the fan would come on…assuming that is normal

Anyone else cranking 100W heads through their Captor X?

I have also emailed Rick at Wizard and will share his feedback here!

I think around 4 is good but after that it gets too much . If it’s safe do a clip . 2 me there’s a sweet spot early . At 2-4 . I actually real dime used his wizard quiet in the studio so thst made sense

@Smashedguitaris⸸ @Techdeth something interesting I learned from Rick about this specific W800 is that it is basically a modified Vintage Classic with no provisions for modifications.

That explains to me (a wizard Noob) why I’m getting a more vintage-y sound at lower volumes.

I had the master on 5 and the preamp on 7 with full attenuation of the Torpedo through a 4x12 and it felt like it was just starting to saturate!

@Smashedguitaris⸸ @Techdeth something interesting I learned from Rick about this specific W800 is that it is basically a modified Vintage Classic with no provisions for modifications.

That explains to me (a wizard Noob) why I’m getting a more vintage-y sound at lower volumes.

I had the master on 5 and the preamp on 7 with full attenuation of the Torpedo through a 4x12 and it felt like it was just starting to saturate!
What wizard you have ?

i can tell you that if you use the captor or the speakers with lowish volume, and use line out of the wizard into a daw with a speaker ir, you are going to have some amazing tones. And I need to hear them.

Yea I’m going to mess with this setup and not push volume much farther, I trust rick and am not looking to blow anything up!