EVH Setup with 78 Striped (Non-Floyd Trem)

Love Chip - he is the man. But I have been playing non-locking trems for the last 4-5 years (after decades of Floyds) and I don't do anything according to that vid. And my non-locking guitars stay in tune literally as well as any of my old Floyd equipped guitars used to.

Two springs feels great on the trem and allows you to pop it quick to get everything back in tune but it didn't work for me long term. I feel an additional spring helps with tuning. I am proud to say I almost got my wilkinson to stay in tune even with a ton of abuse on the bar and crazy bends and have to dip it back way less often. I used a larger string to widen the slot and used pencil lead. Which begs the question, why would I go through this method if at the end of everything you still have to dip the trem quick to come back in tune? Also, I have no idea what he did with the strings looping it through the peg and being able to ensure he had the right amount of lead to get the desired amount of winds around the peg.

As for floyds, fook them! They might stay in tune better but I hate the clunky ass things. Pain in the ass to tune over time too once you run out of mileage and have no where to go, you have to pop the locking end off or loosen it to make adjustments. I hate everything about them. The new locking wilkinson saddles are the ultimate answer all be it expensive and not easily purchased at the moment.

Coolness. Thanks for posting.

Yeah need more details on amount of slack and twisting the string in the block. Video is way lacking details on this most crucial step.

Love Chip - he is the man. But I have been playing non-locking trems for the last 4-5 years (after decades of Floyds) and I don't do anything according to that vid. And my non-locking guitars stay in tune literally as well as any of my old Floyd equipped guitars used to.
What tricks do you use to keep your non locking trems in tune?

Reactions: PDC