Help - No sound from my Uberschall

jc986

Alright, hopefully one of you guys can point me in the right direction here. I was playing my Rev Blue Uberschall today and everything was fine. I went to switch to a different guitar so I put the amp in standby, and plugged in the other guitar. While still in Standby, I heard a crackling noise (almost like a shorted cable or something). The noise stopped after about a second. I flipped the amp on and now there is no sound whatsoever.

Does it sound like a fuse issue? I've been using tube amps for about 15 years and have been pretty fortunate not to really have ever had any issues other than a tube going bad. All the tubes still light up normally, but I'm not getting any output at all. Doesn't matter what channel. I bypassed the preamp by plugging straight in to the Effects Loop Return (leaving a cable connected to the input, as without something plugged in the amp is muted entirely) and still nothing. I swapped the V1 12ax7 with a known good tube and still nothing. I tried swapping in a known good set of E34L power tubes and it made no difference.

I suppose it's worth noting that I've been running KT88's for the last 6 months without having the amp's bias range modded, but per Charlie at Bogner it shouldn't be an issue as I ordered a very cool set of KT88's and they biased up easily to 34ma. So they aren't running out of spec and the Uber should be able to handle it per Bogner.

Thanks in advance for any other suggestions or if anyone can recommend a good amp tech within driving distance of Dayton, OH.

Seeing as how you tried the effects return and still got no sound, looks like a power section issue to me.

Unplug the amp.

Check the HT fuse, and if it's blown, DO NOT continue to use the same power tubes after replacing the fuse. It blew for a reason!!

Hopefully you have a spare set of tubes you can try.