Mark IV Reissue - Thoughts?

JFUberist

Apologies as this thread may already exist. I am a noob so here goes...

I know the industry is plugged into these forums and now that Gibson has acquired Mesa Boogie, I wanted to start a dull roar from the crowd to bring back an amp that is perfect to so many.

Gibson is all about heritage and reissues.. so why not talk about what should be included in such a product.

1. Detachable power chord (duh)
2. Midi
3. Double graphic EQ (JP2C)
4. No reverb (fight me lol)
5. Not into the cab clone (let's talk)

With the unveiling of the Mark VII, my thoughts are that it's a greatest hits amp and not a distilled solution for a guitarist who plays heavy music.

Great points, JFUberist. I agree. Except I wouldn’t say it’s a greatest hits amp as that implies it’ll nail all those past amps faithfully. It’s more like a greatest hits as performed by a mediocre cover band amp.

If it's a reissue you're likely going to get a reissue with detachable power because that is required for some certifications IIRC... you're not going to get a new amp with new features. I would also be really surprised if the IV shows up in a reissue series... first one would probably be a IIC+ and a collector's amp with price tag to match.

thegame, I totally agree. It's definitely being played by a cover band. I think the feel of these newer amps with all of these features and switching detracts from the amps response. There's some two channel legacy amps out there that still sell in large numbers due to their ability to deliver feel (...and price lol)

technomancer - I can see that coming too. I just have to criticize Mesa's product road map when they approach it like a software company.. endless adding features and ignoring what made the original so great.

If it takes a John Petrucci to get us a reincarnation of a IIRC, then perhaps another artist can get us an MK IV reissue of some flavor..