VH4 and JMP-1 preamp

slivoid

Hello !

I would plug a Marshall JMP-1 preamp on my VH4, in order to have a dirty sound, but only once in a while..
Is it possible to plug on the front of the amp, in place of Fulltone OCD ?

I'm not very good at wiring...

Thanks a lot ! ;)

In principle you can do it but not without further effort. The JMP1 preamp delivers a line level signal at its output. The VH4 input however needs a instrument level signal on its input. So you have to convert the JMP1 output signal to instrument level with a device like the Ebtech Line Shifter. Otherwise you overload the input of the VH4.

The prefered solution is to put the JMP1 output into the serial return of the VH4, bypassing the VH4 preamp. Still you would need an additional looper device to be able to switch between the VH4 preamp and JMP1 preamp.

Hope that helped.

Thanks for your answer ;)
I think I understood de wiring.
I made a quick drawing.
It's a good starting point ?

jmp1wiring.jpg

Thanks again :thumbsup:

what about using the "vh4 thru" to "jmp in" and the "jmp out" to "vh4 parallel return" and switching the loop on per midi (having the parallel vol on front turned all up). that only works when the the loop switch switches the retun, not the send though... worth a try

Is the parallel loop are not best suited for digital multi-effects (ADA conversion) dixit VH4 Manual ?

But I can also try this, the advantage is to not need a looper ! :yes:

Elfredo, that won't work. The parallel return is always active. It's the parellel send that gets switched on and off.

Slivoid, the best option is a combination. Use the option from your diagram and use the parallel return instead of the serial (because I'm pretty sure if you plug into the serial return the VH4's signal is broken and you'll only hear the jmp.

OK, will try this option. ;)

I changed my diagram with your option, it can be used for other persons ;)

jmp1wiring.jpg

slyvren":htqoq9y6 said: