VH4 Channel 2 not working

stevemac1

Hi all,
I'm a newbie to this forum but have owned a Diezel VH4 for a number of year and absolutely love the amp. Best purchase I ever made. A few weeks ago I took the amp to a local repair shop in Massachusetts to have the tubes replaced. The amp is about 4 or 5 years old and the tones were starting to change so I felt it needed new tubes. The shop replaced the JJ KT77s and the preamp tubes and biased them all but when he finished he said that channel 2 would not work. Channel 1, 3 and 4 sound great. On channel 2 you can hear a slight hum - like the channel is working but no sound will come out. Has anyone had this happen? If so, is there a repair that the shop can do. The amp is obviously out of warranty. Any help / thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

No sound at all???? Just a hum????? Does the hum get louder when the MV or CV get turned up/down????

More importantly - did it work BEFORE going to the repair shop???

No sound at all???? Just a hum????? Does the hum get louder when the MV or CV get turned up/down????

More importantly - did it work BEFORE going to the repair shop???
Hi, thank you for the reply. Yes, it did work (all 4 channels) before I took it to the repair shop to have it re-tubed. The hum is a low hum and it does get slightly louder when I turn up the master volume and the channel volume. The hum sounds different than the other 3 channels - its a lower hum.

I'm sorry to say - this is going to have to rest on the responsibility of the repair shop then. 100% - if all channels were working going INTO the shop, but Ch.2 is NOT working coming out of the shop - math is simple. They fucked something up and need to fix it.

If it's an OLD VH4, it could be a fault preamp tube (V4), but if it's a relatively modern VH4, then V1 supplies all channels, and Ch.2 relies on V3 and V4, as do all the other channels (save for V3 NOT supplying Ch.1)