Wizard MCII 50W Tubes and Biasing?

bkemp23

I think my 2018 MCII needs new power tubes. When I turn it on, it makes an intermittent popping noise. I've never changed tubes or biased an amp before but my background is controls engineering so I have knowledge of circuits and the dangers associated with high voltage (however typically no more than 240V). My plan is to replace the stock tubes with the same JJ EL34L. From what I've read, getting a matched pair seems to be ideal.

1) How does a stock 50W MCII come biased in mA?
2) Does anyone know if the caps self discharge after power down or will they require discharging to GND? (wise to verify either way)
3) Do you have to measure mA AND V on both tubes at the same time?
4) Given my background, do you think this is a good idea or would it be wise to observe/get help from someone the first time?

I called a local shop to see about tubes and got to talking about the amp and it's symptoms. They think it could be a capacitor going out. Does this make sense with the popping noise it is making? The pops do seem to come at a fairly consistent interval.

Reactions: Geo
I think my 2018 MCII needs new power tubes. When I turn it on, it makes an intermittent popping noise. I've never changed tubes or biased an amp before but my background is controls engineering so I have knowledge of circuits and the dangers associated with high voltage (however typically no more than 240V). My plan is to replace the stock tubes with the same JJ EL34L. From what I've read, getting a matched pair seems to be ideal.

1) How does a stock 50W MCII come biased in mA?
2) Does anyone know if the caps self discharge after power down or will they require discharging to GND? (wise to verify either way)
3) Do you have to measure mA AND V on both tubes at the same time?
4) Given my background, do you think this is a good idea or would it be wise to observe/get help from someone the first time?