Egnater IE4 + RT250

MKT

Hi all. I have questions about MIDI switching with these amps.

Does the MIDI channel switching work between these two amps, e.g. channel 1 on the IE and ch.1 on the RT, and when engaging channel two on IE, does the Randall power amp automatically switch to the channel 2?

And which MIDI foot switch can co-operate with these two units?

*Edit* My IE4 is older red one with five pin midi connectors and RT2/50 has 7 pin input and 5 pin thru connectors. Does channel switching work if I connect a 7 pin midi foot switch to RT's input and connect the IE4 midi in to RT's midi thru?

RT250 manual says that midi switch should be connected first to preamp midi in and then from preamp thru to RT midi in. Does it matter which way they are connected?

I'm new to these midi stuff, please help! :confused:

Btw, this is a killer sounding combination.

143892.jpg

MKT":9g1qjalr said:
Hi all. I have questions about MIDI switching with these amps.
Does the MIDI channel switching work between these two amps, e.g. channel 1 on the IE and ch.1 on the RT, and when engaging channel two on IE, does the Randall power amp automatically switch to the channel 2?
It depends on how the RT2/50 was last programmed but you can program it to behave any way you like. So if the RT is in switching mode and you have EL34s on one side and 6L6s on the other, You may like channel 1 of the IE paired with the 6L6s and channel 2&3 with EL34s then channel 4 with 6L6s again.

Be aware that the RT2/50 usually are set to MIDI channel 16 (unless that's been changed), so your controller should either be set to OMNI if your IE is set to a different channel OR you'll need to set both the IE and RT to the same channel. It depends on what you want to accomplish and if you're trying to control any other gear.

And which MIDI foot switch can co-operate with these two units?

Pretty much any midi controller will work.