Giving Up After All These Years?

Gitfiddler

This may be a better topic for the off-topic board, but have any of you ever considered just giving up on your instrument or just leaving it behind?

I have been playing the guitar since 1987. I have not gigged since 1996. I have bought and sold a lot of guitars and gear over the years, and I am the best player I have ever been now. I have played guitar for many hours each day in recent months, and quite a bit, since the pandemic started. I am a much better player than I ever dreamed, and can play a lot of the stuff that I wanted to learn from my guitar heroes.

I do not anticipate ever being in a band again, and often question why I spend time trying to learn new things on the guitar, checking out guitar gear, sites, and following my heroes on Instagram. At the end of the day, I’m not sure I even enjoy playing, but I’ve just done it for so long. I am also starting to develop a muscle pain on the side of my neck due too shitty playing posture.

Recently, I have mentally stepped back to think about this stuff. I have no emotional attachment to any of the guitars I have, and could give them all up tomorrow. I am not sure I am even looking for inspiration. It is everywhere! I still like listening to music and appreciate great guitar playing, but I am finding that I just don’t care to play it.

just thinking out loud with this post, but have any of you found yourself in this situation?

Yes. You are not alone. I’ve been playing since ‘84. I became obsessive in ‘87. I did the G.I.T. thing in ‘89. Played 4-nighters - mostly covers sprinkled with originals - in the early 90s. Moved back to LA and did the ‘let’s get signed’ thing in the early 90s (at the WORST possible time…) I gave up in the mid 90s, went back to school, and have had a really good life since.