Hum debugging, effects loop buzzing [SOLVED]

6v6

Hi,

I have a Egnater Rebel 20 that I recently bought off CL. Overall I'm really happy with this amp, but there are two things really bothering me:

1. Constant hum/buzz: There is a background buzzing that seems to always be present.
2. Effects loop seems broken: if I connect anything into into the return the amp starts feeding back which rapidly gets louder and louder.

I'm pretty new to guitars, amps and especially tube electronics but I am an engineer and I know my way around DMM and O-scope. I also have bench top power supply and function generator if any of that equipment can help.

I'm looking for good tutorials, training tips etc that can help me solve the two problems above and improve my general understanding of the workings of guitar amplifiers. As above, I can poke and prod around things but I'm not one to play cowboy with electronics. I'd rather learn a bit an proceed safely.

Thanks

Thanks for the response. I have gotten a recommendation from http://www.dougstubes.com/ but I don't want to buy until I'm sure this amp will work.

I have recently replaced v1 with a 'groovetube' (only thing I could find locally) because it died.

I don't want to spend money on a bunch of tubes only to find out that isn't the cause, or that the amp is toast, or ....

So before I wanted to isolate the problem first, is there a way I can do that without buying a new set of tubes?

Please excuse the necro-bump.

yes, this is still broken. no i don't have a lot of time to deal with it.

Here is what is happening:
Connecting anything (even a patch cable) between the send/return and I get super loud buzzing. I mean louder than the master knob is even set to and it seems like it would get even louder if I kept it going.

I've tried:

1. Patch cable between send & return
2. Place new 12ax7 in each of the preamp tube spots

No luck.

I'm the second owner, so of course there is no warranty.