What attenuator(s) are you using for your NMV amps these days?

I’ve been using my Ho attenuator for at least 15 years now. I did recordings with the amp wide open vs the attenuated tone and the attenuated tone was about 98% spot on the non attenuated. The attenuated tone just a tad less bottom, and thats an ez fix. So I’ve stuck with that one.

I've owned the following: THD Hotplate, TAD Silencer, Fryette PS-2 Powerstation, Aracom P-150, Scumback DBLimiter (aka Alex Attenuator). From my own experience I preferred the Scumback/Alex over the rest of them. The Aracom was great but I wish it had a treble boost function for the highest levels of attenuation like the Scumback. The PS-2 was a bit weird in the feel and sound when it was really quiet. I'd still like to try the Toneking Ironman.

I'm thinking more along the lines of bringing a cranked NMV amp down to 100dB or so, not whisper quiet don't wake the baby bedroom levels.
I tried that route with a big Marshall for gigs but personally think an amp/speakers more suited to that dB range is the better choice especially now that some of the more premium attenuators cost as much as a new amp. A 20-35 watt amp with some lower efficiency speakers and an OD will get you in that ballpark too IME.

zl9AcrY.png

I use a Pulse Attenuator....basically a Jettenuator clone(by Soldano). Works great. I like the tone better than the PS100 I had...go figure. The PS is a great piece of kit though, and does soo much like adding a loop, use as a WDW power amp, etc.
But I just didn't like the tone when used as an attenuator. Pulse sounded better to me. I also have a separate WDW mini rack so no need for the PS in that regard.

On board compressor, reverb, delay, EQ and boost, plenty of IR slots and all MIDI controllable. Waza TAE does more than everything else so that’s the box I’m using at the moment. Haven’t dealt with a delay pedal, fx loop or 4cm live in 5yrs