Acoustic Guitars

Aynirar27

Holy shit there are a lot of them!

tl:dr recommend me an acoustic

Although I’ve been playing guitar for 25 years or so, I’ve never really looked in to acoustics very much. I’ve always had one around, most have just been gifts.

But I’m turning 40 soon and I’ve accepted that I’m old now, so I’d like to treat myself to a nice acoustic. Well a kinda nice acoustic. Like maybe around $1k or so.

So I started looking to see what is out there and I can’t believe how many styles there are. Shapes, sizes, bracing, electronics, oh my!

So anyways I guess I’m looking at recommendations on where to start my search. The nearest decent shop to me is 90 or so minutes away, but if I have to carve out the time to visit, I will.

I took fingerstyle lessons for a few years so that is mostly what I play. A bit of blues as well. Not so much in to strumming.

I’d prefer it to also be electric but not a deal breaker. And I would strongly prefer it to be all solid wood, which is probably the most limiting factor

What are you guys playing??

Seagull, Breedlove, and Alvarez are probably going to give you the most for your money at or under $1k. The Taylor 214ce is nice, but riding it's name a bit with the price. Alternatively, https://www.rondomusic.com/acoustics.html are absolute quality bargains if you're willing to go that route (I have a classical 7 version) Built by World Music (probably same as your Strandberg depending on the year), just make sure to check scale length vs tuning you want. On the used end of things 70/80s Yamaha or Takamine for less than half and up to your budget. Possibly a few Martins from the 90s/early 00s like the US built DM and OM models for under $1k, but rabbit hole on what is what. My others include an 80s Martin D28, a 70s Takamine martin copy, and this pretty rare lovely that's easily my favorite

20240218_171926.jpg