Marshall JCM800 Questions

midgod07

Hello all, I have a possible line on a minty 1984 JCM800 2204. It's supposedly been serviced every other year and has had new caps. No mods. What are the things I need to look for to make sure it's as valuable as asking price, retains value, and sounds the way a Marshall should? I'm a newb to the vintage Marshall game. I realize things need to be replaced, but are there parts that "should" be original? I need to know what questions to ask. Assume I'm an idiot when it comes to amp parts, because I am. ie, the "blue things in the back of the amp", etc. Thanks!

Thanks folks. Sorry for the rookie question. Awaiting pics from seller . . . have been told that caps and tubes have been replaced. That's all I know so far.

After listing a '81 2204 here for some time it would not move for $2500, a local trade for a 2203 came and I moved it for the amount above. If u list that 2204 and it is mint do it@$2200 plus shipping and it should go...

Thanks folks. Sorry for the rookie question. Awaiting pics from seller . . . have been told that caps and tubes have been replaced. That's all I know so far.
Depending on the condition of the original tubes/filter caps, you may want them if the seller still has them. Which is probably not the case; but vintage tubes if they are still usable will most times give you better tone than any new production. If the original LCR caps aren't leaking/bulging and were just changed "because they're old and need it!" which most techs will shout, I'd get those too and keep them. I'd even go so far as to put them back in.