Anderson Angel - anyone play these?

mooncobra

I got this a couple years ago. Not usually a fan of blue guitars with tops like this. I usually prefer a more subtle and simple look. But, the playability is off the charts. Easily the best playing guitar I have ever come across. The stainless frets make it feel like ice. The Anderson single coils sound great. The Humbucker sounds good as well, but have been pondering changing it for a while now. I have a second degree black belt or a thornbucker 2 I might put in. I scored a killer deal on an Ibanez j custom last year and I didn’t think any guitar could play more effortless than that, but this one does. Wish I still had a Charvel I used to own as that also played amazing. This guitar sounds great with high gain or cleans. I just wish it was a little more subtle looking.

The pic makes it look more blue than it really is, the god damn iPhone seems to produce inaccurate pictures.

Anyone else playing an Angel? What do you think of yours?

I added a pic of the type of J custom it dethroned as best playing guitar.

Attachments

• IMG_9425.jpeg
    IMG_9425.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 109
  • IMG_9391.jpeg
    IMG_9391.jpeg
    346.4 KB · Views: 107
Waaaay back in the early 90s,a young me wrote Tom a long note on why I thought he should make a 2 octave 24frt guitar. With thier quality even back then I remember thinking this would be a dream guitar. But they were pretty adamant at the time that they wernt ever going to.Thk God they went for it! The level of quality,fit,finish,fretwork,and playability is just off the charts and 2nd to none on my angel.
20220416_123911.jpg

Wow, she's a beauty!

I'm playing a Li'l Angel and it's become my #1 over the past year. It has all the tone, frets, and playability I want in a guitar wrapped up in a smaller scale. The workmanship is unparalleled, probably the best I've ever seen and, as you say, is effortless to play.

View attachment 293606